top of page

Sustainable Style Spotlight #1

Updated: Nov 7, 2020

Hello all!


So after the success of my Sustainable Fashion on a Budget post a while ago, I'm going to start doing a little series where every week or two I bring attention to some sustainable fashion brands.


Just to be clear, when I refer to sustainable fashion I am referring to fashion that is both eco-friendly and ethical. Any brand that isn't really eco-friendly I have made clear below along with the efforts they are making.


Additionally, once again this time I focused on brands offering pieces at an affordable price range. This is based on my opinion so of course what might seem affordable to me may not be the same for everyone, however, do keep in mind that of course brands who are operating sustainably and ethically are going to end up slightly more expensive than fast-fashion brands due to the materials they're using and the fact that they are paying workers a living wage. Some shops do have more expensive items but if I included them it is because I saw at least a few items on there that seemed like a bargain to me.


If you want a long list of suggestions I have more on this post https://www.byerinoleary.com/post/sustainable-fashion-on-a-budget


If anyone has any suggestions for brands I should include in the future please dm them to me on Instagram @byerinoleary!


Disclaimer: I just wanted to say, that although I really encourage trying to make the change over to shop sustainably I never want to shame anyone. Sometimes people are living in poverty and from paycheck to paycheck and can't afford more than a pair of €2 Penneys knickers. Essentials like underwear, work clothes etc. just have to be bought and it's not your fault that the only thing you can afford is fast fashion - that's down to the system. However, a new dress from Boohoo for every night out is not essential, and the reason those prices are so low is because of the cost to the person making it. So next time you're doing a haul from your favourite fast-fashion site, maybe ask yourself: "is someone else's suffering worth this?"

Now without further ado, here are today's brands! Hope you find something you like x



Brighton Lace

XFemina Designs

Sewing Wild Seams

NU-IN

  • https://nu-in.com/

  • Stocks lots of street style essentials from jeans to joggers at decent prices

  • UK/Portugal

Fools Gold Vintage

Amplify Black Voices

Mind Your Head

Minga London

  • https://www.mingalondon.com/

  • Ethical brand with super cute pieces

  • Not currently using eco-friendly fabrics, though their website claims that they have "started to adopt some product-level initiatives, such as replacing one fiber type for a less environmentally harmful option – recycled and organic fabrics "

  • UK

Clem Designs

  • https://clemdesignsx.com/

  • Small business owner creating handmade pieces

  • Ethically sourced fabrics. Not eco-friendly however scraps are saved for one-off patchwork pieces.

  • UK



That's them all! See you next time on Sustainable Style Spotlight xx


Love,


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page